Department of Health and Human Services - DHHS
The Nebraska Health Care Certificate of Need Act (CON) placed a moratorium on new rehabilitation and nursing home beds in Nebraska, with a few exceptions. Nursing homes or hospitals are allowed minor increases in beds as exceptions to the Act. If more beds are needed than are allowed by the Act, a nursing home or hospital must submit a Certificate of Need application and $1,000 fee. If the request is in accordance with the Act, a Certificate of Need is issued, which certifies that there is a need for a specific number of additional beds in the location or category requested. The CON expires in one year, and the CON holder may request that the CON be renewed for one year if a good-faith effort is being made to meet the timetable. I have only received two CON requests in the past 5 years. Both of those were from small towns whose nursing homes were closed, and the nursing home beds were sold to other facilities. Nearly all expansions are done as an exception to CON, as provided in the statute.